National Museum of Contemporary Art Athens


12/06/2009 - 11/10/2009


Heart in heart

Athens Conservatoire

12/06/2009 – 11/10/2009

Curated By: Anna Kafetsi

Opening: June 11, 2009

On June 11, The National Museum of Contemporary Art will inaugurate heart in heart, a large scale exhibition in which 23 artists participate with paintings, sculpture, installations, drawings, photographs, videos and web art from EMST collection. Most of the works are presented for the first time. Occupying the entire exhibition space of the Museum in the Athens Conservatory building, the exhibition will last for four months.

The title of the exhibition is borrowed from the eponymous sculpture by artist Yael Kanarek, a recent acquisition of the collection. Featured artists in the exhibition include: Carl Andre, Kutlug Ataman, Bill Viola, Nan Goldin, Ilya Kabakov, Pedro Cabrita-Reis, Yael Kanarek, Nikos Kessanlis, Kimsooja, Yorgos Lazongas, John Baldessari, Per Barclay, Pantelis Xagoraris, Nina Papaconstantinou, Steve Roden, Lucas Samaras, Shelly Silver, Peter Fischli and David Weiss, George Hadjimichalis, Mona Hatoum, Gary Hill, Rebecca Horn and Chryssa.

The exhibition presupposes a prevalent museological strategy today, which invites us to rethink the collection – a museum’s heart – as a constantly shifting field of new relationships among works.

The exhibition attempts to penetrate into secrets and hidden codes, personal diaries and intimate confessions, love letters and stories, fears, desires and emotions through contemporary and earlier works which conceal, converse and conflict with each other, store memories and touches, enabling the establishment of clandestine links among them as well as of a narrative which conceals and at the same time reveals through the images and the words of others.

In the framework of the exhibition heart in heart the tribute soundscapes is organized in the media lounge and the patio of the museum with sound works by some of the most important contemporary representatives of sound art (electronic, environmental, etc) among which are: Erik Belgum, Jürgen Bräuninger, Steven Feld, Bill Fontana, Thomas Gerwin, Bob Gluck, Υael Kanarek, Daniel Lentz, Steve Roden, Mario Verandi, Nils Vigeland, Hildegard Westerkamp’s Trevor Wishart.