EMST

The National Museum of Contemporary Art (EMST) was founded in 1997 by Law 2557 (article 2). It is a Legal Body of Private Law, of non -profit character, supervised and financed by the Ministry of Culture and Sports.

The nine member Board of Administration and the Director are appointed by the Minister of Culture and Sports.

Among its basic aims are: the creation of collections of works of contemporary Hellenic and international art, the promotion and presentation of advanced and experimental artistic tendencies, the enhancement of the aesthetic and artistic cultivation of the audience and the development of scientific research on subjects of contemporary art history and theory.

Administrative Board

President

Georgios Papanastasiou, Architect

Vice President

Aggelos Antonopoulos, Associate Professor of A.S.F.A.

Members

Victoria Efthymiadou, Lawyer
Anthia Kotsi, Art Historian
Emmanouil Mavrommatis, Art Historian
Dimitrios Mpoumpouris, Lawyer
Olga Mentzafou – Polyzou, Art Historian
Michalis Papadakis, Representative of Chamber of Fine Arts of Greece
Efthimia – Anna Strouza, Art Historian

Director

Katerina Koskina

Art Historian-Museologist and Curator of exhibitions. Director of the National Museum of Contemporary Art, Athens, since December 2014.

Born in Corfu, she studied French Literature at the University of Athens, as well as History and Philosophy of Art at Paris I-Sorbonne University. In addition, she studied Museology at the Ecole du Louvre. She has a PhD in Art History.

She worked from 1988 to 1992 at the European Cultural Centre of Delphi as a Special Advisor for visual arts. She was the Greek Commissioner at the 23rd Biennale of Sao Paulo in 1996 and at the 51st Venice Biennale in 2005, and the Director of the 3rd, 4th and the 5th Thessaloniki Biennale of Contemporary Art (2011-2015).

From 1992 to October 2014 she was Curator of the Alpha Bank Art Collection. She has been Artistic Director of the J. F. Costopoulos Foundation, Athens, till the end of 2014 (1992-2014). She has been President of the Board of Trustees of the State Museum of Contemporary Art, Thessaloniki, from December 2008 till January 2015, member of the Artistic Committee of the Athens METRO from 1998 to 2011, and Artistic Consultant to the Organizing Committee for the Olympic Games/Athens 2004 S.A. from 2000 to 2004. She is a member of ICOM, and of AICA Hellas.

She has organized, directed, curated and/or co-curated group and one-man shows and contributed essays to several books and exhibition catalogues, as well as articles in newspapers and art magazines.

She has been awarded as Cavaliere dell’Ordine della Stella d’Italia and Chevalier dans l’ Ordre national de la Legion d’ Honneur.

Personnel

DIRECTOR

Katerina Koskina
tel.: 211-1019002, 211-1019003, 211-1019011 /e-mail: emst.secretariat@emst.gr

 

SECRETARIAT

Scientific Assosiate – Secretary

  • Anna Mikoniati
    tel.: 211-1019036 / e-mail: anna.mikoniati@emst.gr

Quality and Programmes Coordinator

  • Elena Andreou
    tel.: 211-1019011 / e-mail: elena.andreou@emst.gr, emst.secretariat@emst.gr

Secretary

  • Despoina Konstandinidou
    tel.: 211-1019002,3 / e-mail: despoina.konstantinidou@emst.gr, emst.secretariat@emst.gr

 

COMMUNICATION, PROMOTION, SPONSORS AND RECEPTION OFFICE 

Cultural Managers 

  • Kassiani Benou
    tel.: 211-1019009 / e-mail: kassiani.benou@emst.gr, pressoffice@emst.gr
  • Despoina Barabouti
    tel.: 211-1019035 / e-mail: despoina.barabouti@emst.gr

Cloakroom 

  • Eleni Kalaboka
  • Kiriaki Tsolakidou

 

DIVISION OF COLLECTIONS AND DOCUMENTATION
Department of Painting, Sculpture, Engraving and 3D Projects

Curators 

  • Dafni Vitali
    tel.: 211-1019025 / e-mail: daphne.vitali@emst.gr
  • Eleni Ganiti
    tel.: 211-1019013 / e-mail: eleni.ganiti@emst.gr
  • Tina Pandi
    tel.: 211-1019021 / e-mail: tina.pandi@emst.gr

Department of Photography and New Media

Curator 

  • Stamatis Schizakis
    tel.: 211-1019012 / e-mail: stamatis.schizakis@emst.gr

Department of Preservation of Artworks

Art Preservers 

  • Fotini Alexopoulou
    tel.: 211-1019023/ e-mail: fotini.alexopoulou@emst.gr
  • Kostas Stoupathis
    tel.: 211-1019027 / e-mail: kostas.stoupathis@emst.gr

Department of Documentation, Archives, Library

Documentation Curator 

  • Anina Valkana
    tel.: 211-1019006 / e-mail: anina.valkana@emst.gr

Librarians-Archivists

  • Roula Andreakou
  • Pepi Drakoulinakou

Department of Education, Exhibitions, Publications and Cultural Activities

Education Curators 

  • Marina Tsekou
    tel.: 211-1019007 / e-mail: marina.tsekou@emst.gr
  • Elisabeth Ioannides
    tel.: 211-1019016 / e-mail:elisabeth.ioannides@emst.gr

Education Workshops

  • Dimitris Kannas
    tel.: 211-1019028 / e-mail: dimitris.kannas@emst.gr

 

DIVISION OF ADMINISTRATIVE AND FINANCIAL SERVICES
Department of Administrative Services

Human Resources Manager

  • Stella Loi
    tel.: 211-1019050 / e-mail: stella.loi@emst.gr

Administrative Manager

  • Konstantinos Kontogiannis
    tel.: 211-1019004 / e-mail: kostas.kontogiannis@emst.gr

Office Employees

  • Dimitra Kokkineli
    tel.: 211-1019018 / e-mail: dimitra.kokkineli@emst.gr
  • Eleni Grentzelou
  • Evi Paradisi

Driver  

  • Giannis Limanis
    tel.: 211-1019037 / e-mail: ioannis.limanis@emst.gr

Department of Financial Services and Commercial Management

Accountant Assistants

  • Despoina Pagoni
    tel.: 211-1019005 / e-mail: despoina.pagoni@emst.gr, accounting@emst.gr
  • Christos Prantalos
    tel.: 211-1019022 / e-mail: christos.prantalos@emst.gr, accounting@emst.gr

Accounting Officer 

  • Odisseas Stergiou
    tel.: 211-1019018 / e-mail: odysseas.stergiou@emst.gr, accounting@emst.gr

Tickets Office

  • Aggeliki Dellaporta
  • Sofia Mavragani

Museum Shop

  • Maria Paraskevopoulou
  • Persefoni Sombolou

Security, Surveillance and Reception Department

Security Guards

  • Theodosia Koliodede
  • Stergios Lialios
  • Vasiliki Liopiari
  • Spiridoula Markatou
  • Leonidas Papaspiliopoulos
  • Maria Sakellaraki
  • Ioanna – Paraskevi Spanou
  • Xenia Argirou
  • Dimitra Leontiadi

 

DIVISION OF TECHNICAL SERVICES
Department of Maintenance of Mechanical – Building Facilities and Equipment, Hygiene and Safety 

Head of Electromechanical  Facilities

  • Vlasis Garoufalis

Electricians

  • Kostas Svolis
    tel.: 211-1019008 / e-mail: kostas.svolis@emst.gr
  • Michalis Pagonis
    tel: 211-1019032 / e-mail: Michail.Pagonis@emst.gr
  • Christos Routoulas
  • Kostas Katsaros

Mechanical Engineer

  • Marios Kokotos

Cleaners 

  • Katerina Verdeli
  • Athina Spiliopoulou
  • Giorgos Spiropoulos
  • Antonia Theodoraki
  • Olga Markezini
  • Eleni Sanna


Department of Management of Information and Communication Facilities and Production Lab of Digital Audiovisual Artworks

Head of Information and Communication Systems

  • Diana Akritidi

Department of Exhibitions Production and Cultural Events

Head of Exhibitions Production and Cultural Events

  • Iro Nikolakea
    tel.: 211-1019014 / e-mail: iro.nikolakea@emst.gr

Technician for Installation of Artworks

  • Dimitris Naziris

General Duties 

  • Aimilios Petrikis

 

EXTERNAL CO OPERATORS

Aikaterini Kaftani, Lawyer

ΝΝΤ, Accountant Services

     +   Internal Rules of Procedure of EMST (in Greek)

EL / EN