The National Museum of Contemporary Art (EMST) was founded in 1997 by Law 2557 (article 2). It is a Legal Body of Private Law, of non -profit character, supervised and financed by the Ministry of Culture and Sports.

The nine member Board of Administration and the Director are appointed by the Minister of Culture and Sports.

Among its basic aims are: the creation of collections of works of contemporary Hellenic and international art, the promotion and presentation of advanced and experimental artistic tendencies, the enhancement of the aesthetic and artistic cultivation of the audience and the development of scientific research on subjects of contemporary art history and theory.

Administrative Board


Georgios Papanastasiou, Architect

Vice President

Aggelos Antonopoulos, Associate Professor of A.S.F.A.


Victoria Efthymiadou, Lawyer
Anthia Kotsi, Art Historian
Emmanouil Mavrommatis, Art Historian
Dimitrios Mpoumpouris, Lawyer
Olga Mentzafou – Polyzou, Art Historian
Michalis Papadakis, Representative of Chamber of Fine Arts of Greece
Efthimia – Anna Strouza, Art Historian


Aikaterini Koskina

Art Historian-Museologist and Curator of exhibitions. Director of the National Museum of Contemporary Art, Athens, since December 2014.

Born in Corfu, she studied French Literature at the University of Athens, as well as History and Philosophy of Art at Paris I-Sorbonne University. In addition, she studied Museology at the Ecole du Louvre. She has a PhD in Art History.

She worked from 1988 to 1992 at the European Cultural Centre of Delphi as a Special Advisor for visual arts. She was the Greek Commissioner at the 23rd Biennale of Sao Paulo in 1996 and at the 51st Venice Biennale in 2005, and the Director of the 3rd, 4th and the 5th Thessaloniki Biennale of Contemporary Art (2011-2015).

From 1992 to October 2014 she was Curator of the Alpha Bank Art Collection. She has been Artistic Director of the J. F. Costopoulos Foundation, Athens, till the end of 2014 (1992-2014). She has been President of the Board of Trustees of the State Museum of Contemporary Art, Thessaloniki, from December 2008 till January 2015, member of the Artistic Committee of the Athens METRO from 1998 to 2011, and Artistic Consultant to the Organizing Committee for the Olympic Games/Athens 2004 S.A. from 2000 to 2004. She is a member of ICOM, and of AICA Hellas.

She has organized, directed, curated and/or co-curated group and one-man shows and contributed essays to several books and exhibition catalogues, as well as articles in newspapers and art magazines.

She has been awarded as Cavaliere dell’Ordine della Stella d’Italia and Chevalier dans l’ Ordre national de la Legion d’ Honneur.



Aikaterini Koskina
tel.: 211-1019002, 211-1019003, 211-1019011 /e-mail: emst.secretariat@emst.gr


Helena Andreou, Quality and Programme Manager (posting)
tel.: 211-1019011 / e-mail: elena.andreou@emst.gr, emst.secretariat@emst.gr

Despoina Konstantinidou, Secretary
tel.: 211-1019002,3 / e-mail: despoina.konstantinidou@emst.gr, emst.secretariat@emst.gr

Anna Mikoniati, Scientific Cooperator – Director Secretary (posting)
tel.: 211-1019036 / e-mail: anna.mikoniati@emst.gr


Kassiani Benou, Communication Manager
tel.: 211-1019009 / e-mail: kassiani.benou@emst.gr, pressoffice@emst.gr

Despoina Barabouti, Communication Manager
tel.: 211-1019009 / e-mail: despoina.barabouti@emst.gr (posting)


Anina Valkana, Curator of Documentation
tel.: 211-1019006 / e-mail: anina.valkana@emst.gr

Daphne Vitali, Assistant Curator
tel.: 211-1019025 / e-mail: daphne.vitali@emst.gr

Eleni Ganiti , Assistant Curator
tel.: 211-1019013 / e-mail: eleni.ganiti@emst.gr

Elisabeth Ioannides, Assistant Curator
tel.: 211-1019016 / e-mail:elisabeth.ioannides@emst.gr

Tina Pandi, Assistant Curator
tel.: 211-1019021 / e-mail: tina.pandi@emst.gr

Stamatis Schizakis, Assistant Curator
tel.: 211-1019012 / e-mail: stamatis.schizakis@emst.gr

Fotini Alexopoulou, Conservator
tel.: 211-1019023/ e-mail: fotini.alexopoulou@emst.gr

Kostas Stoupathis, Conservator (posting)
tel.: 211-1019027 / e-mail: kostas.stoupathis@emst.gr

Marina Tsekou, Curator of Education
tel.: 211-1019007 / e-mail: marina.tsekou@emst.gr

Dimitris Kannas, Educational workshops
tel.: 211-1019028 / e-mail: dimitris.kannas@emst.gr


Konstantinos Kontogiannis, Administrative
tel.: 211-1019004 / e-mail: kostas.kontogiannis@emst.gr

Despoina Pagoni, Assistant Accountant
tel.: 211-1019005 / e-mail: despoina.pagoni@emst.gr, accounting@emst.gr

Christos Prantalos, Assistant Accountant
tel.: 211-1019022 / e-mail: christos.prantalos@emst.gr, accounting@emst.gr

Odisseas Stergiou, Cashier
tel.: 211-1019018 / e-mail: odysseas.stergiou@emst.gr, accounting@emst.gr

Yiannis Limanis, Driver
tel.: 211-1019019

Aimilios Petrikis, Guard


Iro Nikolakea, Architect
tel.: 211-1019014 / e-mail: iro.nikolakea@emst.gr

Kostas Svolis, Electrician
tel.: 211-1019008 / e-mail: kostas.svolis@emst.gr

Michalis Pagonis, Electrician
tel: 211-1019032 / e-mail: Michail.Pagonis@emst.gr


Aikaterini Kaftani, Lawyer

ΝΝΤ, Accountant Services

     +   Internal Rules of Procedure of EMST (in Greek)