Babis Venetopoulos, Landmarks, 2017 (Detail)


Exhibition of AICA - Hellas

Temporary Exhibitions Space (-1)


On Thursday, February the 8th at 19:00 the exhibition of the Greek section of the International Association of Art Critics (AICA – Hellas) titled Theorimata was inaugurated for the first time at the National Museum of Contemporary Art, Athens (EMST).

The promotion and support of the current Greek artistic production through scientific, theoretical and artistic research is the foundation of this new project of AICA – Hellas, aiming at a biennial repetition. Scholars of art history, critics, curators and artists come into dialogue and collaborate around a theme emerging from of contemporary concerns. The inauguration of this exhibition series at EMST signals the importance of joint creativity and collaboration between theorists and artists.

Specifically, for Theorimata 2018, curators, art theorists and critics, members of the Greek section of the association, proposed up to three artists around the theme of Deductive and Axiomatic Systems in the belief that artistic creation is the product of an analytical process and not just an expression of current dominant models.

Concept and coordination: Emmanuel Mavrommatis, President of AICA – Ηellas and Emeritus professor of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki.

Organisational committee: The members of the board of AICA – Hellas Stamatis Schizakis, Artemis Potamianou, Faye Tzanetoulakou and Sozita Goudouna and the members of the association Bia Papadopoulou and Lina Tsikouta.


Anna Lascari, Maro Michalakakos, Αemilia Papaphilippou proposed by Sozita Goudouna
Costas Varotsos, Constantin Xenakis, Nina Papaconstantinou proposed by Charis Kanellopoulou
Dimitris Tragkas proposed by Lena Kokkini
Nikos Papadopoulos proposed by Tassos Koutsouris
Niki Gulema proposed by Christopher Marinos
Thanasis Pallas, Panagiotis Tanimanidis, Tassos Triantafyllou proposed by Emmanuel Mavrommatis
Yannis Ziogas, Nikos Tranos, Ersi Hatziargyrou proposed by Bia Papadopoulou
Costis, Yiorgos Tsakiris proposed by Miltiadis Papanikoloaou
Angelos Antonopoulos, Bill Balaskas, Giorgos Papadatos proposed by Artemis Potamianou
Eugenia Apostolou, George Hadjimichalis proposed by Constantinos Proimos
Aris Prodromidis proposed by Stamatis Schizakis
Ianthi Aggelioglou, Eirini Grigoriadou, Maria Louizou proposed by Athena Schina
Dimitrios Antonitsis, Nikos Podias, Artemis Potamianou proposed by Faye Tzanetoulakou
Giorgos Divaris, Valli Nomidou, Angelos Skourtis proposed by Lina Tsikouta
Kelly Mendrinou proposed by Miltos Frangopoulos
Paky Vlassopoulou, Chrysanthi Koumianaki, Kosmas Nikolaou proposed by Klea Charitou
Babis Venetopoulos, Apostolos Loufopoulos, Konstantinos Tiligadis proposed by Anna Hatziyiannaki
Vangelis Gokas, Giorgos Gyparakis, Nikos Kanarelis proposed by Kostas Christopoulos

Artists honorarily proposed by the organizational committee:
Dimitris Alithinos
Theodoros – sculptor
Marios Spiliopoulos
George Ηarvalias


With the support